Posted on

Somewhere In There

George Gershwein, Summertime

Cab Callaway, Ev’rybody eats when they come to my house.

Gene Krupa, Buddy Rich & Sammy Davis Jr.

two freeform duets Tuba Feedback/Flute & mbira Trumpet… so you can get your odd on.

Danse Macre,

Zig, zig, zig, Death in cadence,
Striking a tomb with his heel,
Death at midnight plays a dance-tune,
Zig, zig, zag, on his violin.

The winter wind blows, and the night is dark;
Moans are heard in the linden trees.
White skeletons pass through the gloom,
Running and leaping in their shrouds.

Zig, zig, zig, each one is frisking,
You can hear the cracking of the bones of the dancers.
A lustful couple sits on the moss
So as to taste long lost delights.

Zig zig, zig, Death continues
The unending scraping on his instrument.
A veil has fallen! The dancer is naked.
Her partner grasps her amorously.

The lady, it’s said, is a marchioness or baroness
And her green gallant, a poor cartwright.
Horror! Look how she gives herself to him,
Like the rustic was a baron.

Zig, zig, zig. What a saraband!
They all hold hands and dance in circles.
Zig, zig, zag. You can see in the crowd
The king dancing among the peasants.

But hist! All of a sudden, they leave the dance,
They push forward, they fly; the cock has crowed.
Oh what a beautiful night for the poor world!
Long live death and equality!

( 😛 to that line, but I never really heard/read this was supposed to be part of the oompha  wikipedia on danse macbre)

About starmanjones

Everything and Nothing interests me. I cook read, write and even have to clean. I SHOULD NOTE: I'm 40 something.

4 responses to “Somewhere In There

  1. Reblogged this on saywhatumean2say and commented:
    To lighten and brighten a dreary, somber, and macabre day. THANX S.man. ~~dru~~

    • 😉 i’ll take that and a bucket of chicken…hold the chicken 😀 however, just to be a brat, i was being dreary 😉 wanh-bulance for me you’ll laugh- i was dreading a day of having tasks i couldn’t do and i got through them and or not saying f-it with a smile and not uttering the words 😉

  2. Glad you made it to the other side. I saw Buddy Rich and Kruppa in Vegas as a kid and the Callaway song use to be my motto before I got so depressed I won’t let anyone in my house. I’ve always enjoyed the Dance Macabre and Summertime may be my all favorite song; so except for the Tuba Tune this was just a wonderful post for me. As I said glad you and for that matter me, made it through this day.

    I did say the F word and a whole lot though. ~~dru~~

Leave a Reply

