Posted on

generally

it is difficult to discuss  any social issue without specifics of a personal nature and be prepared for the dismissals that are where others choose differently for themselves armed with your information.  it is challenging to be relevant thus protecting specifics.thus the rage against the wage under political chatter has my attention and while it may not affect any person reading this the same way it affects me, I feel like covering the questions it raises.

rage against the wage or the raising of minimum wage from 7.25 an hour to upwards of 15 an hour is the seemingly most accurate way this issue is presented.  the canidate making the noise on this push the most is of course berny sanders tirelessly campaigning for the “people’ and he continues to gain momentum so obviously this issue is valid whether or not he has any chances ultimately or not.  realities of price adjustments going upwards are real but to be fair to discussions of this issue, no one can provide much proof what the future impact of this choice would actually be…so I am interested in a more esoteric question of what do I lose personally fighting for this artificial not meritorious personally increase in base wages?

my personal history has had me make to the penny more than this wage only consistantly once neglecting sidework here or there for about 6 weeks.  so I would be adjusting over much of my lifetimes to a higher wage per hour, but asside from one or two adjustments, the question I have is whether or not I’d be tossing away any real hope of a merit based raise which I still actually stupidly or not fight to have a shot at.  many of you reading work for a living…duh… so depending on where you are in your life’s path/work, I’d expect different answers/advice…but the single largest issue I have with upping a base wage is that however trivial, i lose the shot at a merit raise…so for those who work either in my shoes lower down in the peckinng orders  or higher up in achievments/responsibilities, how much has achieving a merit based raised helped you in your life?  I don’t just mean financially speaking, I mean simply on an “I did good” basis – did it aid you inremaining stable with the place as a human being and pushing towards your best or did it not really satisfy you as it was a pittance from what you actually earned?  I suppose for lack of real experience getting merit based raises as i can think of precisely only two i got in over 20 years of working, whether or not it’s worth throwing this carrot away.  I’m fairly sure that the rarity of the achievement or regularity if such is your life’s experiences is that if I haven’t any pride in my work as i’m garunteed the raise no matter my efforts, I’m not likely to want to expend the effort to be very prideful as it isn’t rewarded.  i will always expend some effort to simply be myself and thus to me a little pride is just me…I try hard but often the overall achievements are just a little as I have gains and losses. heh.  but there it is, and thus again, is it worth tossing away the hope of recognition in pay for meritorious service for a government driven increase to more fairly show thaqt I don’t get the reall economy that I just have to have this raise deserved or not so everyone gets by.  I need to step asside from my own goals to realizeI’ve cheated myself or been cheated fighting for merit when I’m not seen as in that category of employee.  is it worth throwing away the hope to be recognized for the bitterness of an economy forward?

as to what a raise in minimum wage does, it garuntees a higher wage.  yay this means rent gets to go up 6 months to a year after its announced and in place.  I wont get to hide that I make more because it’s public knowledge and thus this raise isn’t really for me it’s to a homeowner wanting more money and now about to get it along with everyone else.  I don’t have to share that I made 2 merit based wage increases as that isn’t public thus i can improve my own life privately.  so whatever limited gains i contract upon where I live  are? all the gain i get.  it isn’t nothing.  but now the second question I have is to the life’s experiences as I can read all the data i want on the actual historic outcomes of wages from 1938 on.  in life experiences, with costs stated to be 1-4^ inflation when medical costs and education costs alone are always 10+% and housing fluctuates but makes some fabulous moneys while others eat it a few years later but often a fake bubble of 10% wxists for many but thus also  a x% loss in experience for others. so the question is gas is down thank goodness but food isn’t it literally has gone from 80 a month to 300 to feed a person by typical average not including more limited diets and bulk buying some can manage. or I’m asking here if I must suffer a raise for the good of all, did i ask and fight for enough? 2% was what prices and inflation were yet my med costs and food cost alone rose 15%   while i want the american dream. and it’s worth the fight, am I wrong in thinking I have a real feeling I’m by fighting whether it’s achieved or not to set myself backwards financially collectively and thus openly fighting for more?

so in short, do merit raises matter in the real world of moving us a few pennies forward and also in the pride of achievements however small and not oft made- in my case…and is it enough what is indeed asked for? because with everyone knowing thus goes tthe point all….but small gains temporarily made or not are gains.. so is it worth it? side issues are whether the low end wage earner has been robbed of achieving meritoriously what they’ve earned for the businesses they serve wihich have made money and or financially have grown.  and heh, can i personally survive saying I disagree with sweeping social changes because apparently i don’t like money and like to be screwed? lol

in short,personally, I don’t like being denied the hope of achievement so I ask if it truly exists pragmatically.  I know vividly from personal experience what it’s like to have others know your wages as it becomes their information.  Ihavethus less power.  is it worth what I lose to move the group forward..the group of someone elses, not me or is there still hope that something for ME can happen?

About Starman Jones

Everything and Nothing interests me. I cook read, write and even have to clean. I SHOULD NOTE: I'm 40 something.

4 responses to “generally

  1. merit pay seems a thing of the past. sorry to say. pay increases are generally more about how long you’ve been someplace doing the same thing. pardon me while i moan about this. in my one little job, the crankiest woman on the planet got paid more than i did (i assume) because she’d been doing the job longer. in my other little job, i happen to know that a young lady makes more than i do despite her lack of experience with teaching because 1)she’s applying to med school, so the boss knows she’s very smart and 2)she’s a friend of the family. does she have more merit? or is it strictly nepotism? in this case, is it fair that she is outside the regular pay scale?

    i have a hard time supporting minimum wage raise. i know what it looks like “in the trenches”. I was a store manager back when minimum wage went from $3.10 to something bigger. What it meant was that I had the same budget for payroll so I had fewer hours to schedule my employees. No real pay raise at all, plus customer service necessarily decreased since there had to be fewer employees working shifts. Plus the raise in everything else that happens when people “make” more money.

    There’s a solution to this problem. I don’t think raising minimum wage is it.

    i digress.

    • it would be sad to lose the bargaining point. I swear I succeeded here in that i made more so was desirable than what they offered. I had a good social standing from my work so wasagreeable to go down just to gain my chance at what is 200 more a month to improve 31 hrs to 48 so I get more…. if the rate’s raised there goes that bargain. and I have a real 5 am -11pm work day via my two different rides. so to then get fewer hours would be a misery in paying to kill that time inside as it’s winter a lot of the year and too cold to do so outside and not free or open inside everywhere. plus wow ewith tax incentives previous history and pay I swore I could barely snag this job! the bar raises if that measure passes but only I and those like me lose.

  2. theinfiniterally ⋅

    I don’t know the answers to those questions. It’s worth admitting. 😀

    • in a way, historically, union membership first viscously supressed rose to dominate politic so women’s suffrage passed to ease that locked labour vote. yet socially even with a vote those who didn’t bring home the bacon had? less say if any. solution change times moving industry away for huge savings on labour and taxes! let both people work at lesser work to be the same as one luckier back when. a few gimmes in social expecteds like kids stay with mom and mom now socially can work unlike the golden fifties. voila. things do change. but was it truly golden when divorce was unheard of as it was a stigma for gals to work and also one million afl members were anything but racially open…to a now where some oppurtunities left and more work? who can say the social progress of empowering more and in striving for all? I dont want to live in olden times, they wrote people like me off from the beginning!

Leave a Reply

