Posted on

someone just HAD to post pictures of swans so…as killing and grilling swans is illegal there….

Truckin’ got my chips cashed in
Keep truckin’, like the do-dah man
Together, more or less in line just keep truckin’ on
….grateful dead or dead grateful…?

Duckin’ and there’s a duck or two
lil’ boy caught in pictures watchin too
play hour or war clouds a’brewin for pecking time.

Duck in orange sauce after bake and brine
goose in maple blackberry might be divine’
flour ’em up and fry ’em  for their schemes
naughty  me yell’s here dinner dinner and beams

most of these birds bite squawk and doopity-doop
ready to get me back for thinking lunch
one of these days they’ll get me but how bout brunch?
smug til goose gets me butt-bit.

Duckin’ maybe a goose or two
bread crumbs tossing  like hansel meybe graetle too
go ahead cluck, honk or quack a bit, fools

Camera flash is shinin’ on the scenes
oh don’t stop being cute one snap more please
but inevitably it occurs to me
birdie birdie is on the menu tonight.

One less in the yard this time
wasn’t dinner so kind of divine?
roasted crisp and downed with wine
nope I’m guilty but felt no shame.

duckin’ …nope goose! away I run
aren’t the old games some kind of fun?
take pictures and swap recipes sliced tfor topping buns
just pick one and let it simmer on

watch what comes out the deli window
maybe yours was with a bit of mayonaise sin
maybe my manners here are abhorrant
but I saw you dinner, YUM.

roasted blessed with a bourbon sauce
simmered with stock soy and broccoli
deli sliced beyond paper thin
I’ll have you bird with rice pasta or bread

honk echoes the images of yester when
it was fun and games til hunger pains set in
shoot one down trim and pluck all around
then let it be …ovened crisp as can be

watch what comes out the deli window
maybe yours was with a bit of mayonaise sin
maybe my manners here are abhorrant

duckin’  goose goose! I’m almost safe
uh oh youre close but come on feet it aint long
home, SAFE! sittin’  I won my game.
chased me some birds and them recipes without shame

duckin and a goose goose too
duckin and a goose goose too
duckin’ quck honkity honk

CREAM sauce for duckin’
capers and cluckin on
peach glaze goose is gone
come here dinner dinner youre BON
apetite!

a bellisian one said it has elements of “i’m walking, yes walking…fat’s domino.,

4 responses to “

  1. Great to see you writing poetry again, Josh, and incorporating your passion for food. This was truly amusing.

  2. I love this! 😀 But then I always love when you write poetry or Haiku, etc. 🙂
    Duck-Hugs and Goose-Gooses!!! 😉 😀

    • I keep forgetting to entitle these…naughty me. your next is a do up on music boxes making. I very nearly didn’t post this but then figured it is a parody and I write them lol. twinkle twinkle little star hugs.

Leave a Reply

